The Constitutional assembly meets for the first time today


Justice Minister Wijedasa Rajapaksa says that the first meeting of the constitutional council held under the national government is scheduled to begin at 12 noon today.

The Minister participated in paying his obeisance at the Sacred Tooth Relic Temple yesterday.

Similarly the Minister called on the Malwatta and Asgiri Chief Incumbents and subsequently expressed his views to media.

6 members out of 10 to be appointed to the Constitutional Council have already been named.

The speaker, the prime minister and the opposition leader are officially appointed to the Constitutional Council.

Ministers Patali Champika Ranawaka and Wijedasa Rajapaksa have already been named to represent the president and the prime minister respectively.

Meanwhile Opposition Leader R. Sampandan said that his representative would be named tomorrow

JVP MP Vijitha Herath has been appointed to represent minor parties.

Under the 100 day government, the names of Dr. A.T. Ariyarathna, Retired judge Abdul Wahid Salam and Dr. Radhika Coomaraswamy had been proposed to represent the civil society. 

However parliament approval was not taken for their names to be included in the Constitutional Council.



Make a Comment
Make a Comment