cabinet swearing in today


Parliament passed the proposal submitted by the Prime Minister Ranil Wickremasinghe to increase the number of ministerial portfolios in the National Government.

After having taken a division by name the House passed the "Determination under the Constitution of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka" with 143 in favor and 16 against while 63 were absent.

The proposal sought to increase of Cabinet ministers to 48 from the 30 allowed under the 19th Amendment to the Constitution and deputy and state minister posts to 45.

While the JVP voted against the resolution, the TNA was absent at the time of voting.

Similarly MP Vasudeva Nanayakkara too was not in the chamber during voting.

In addition the NFF, the MEP and Udaya Gammanpila too voted against the resolution.

Meanwhile, a group of SLFP MPs including former President, MP Mahinda Rajapaksa too were absent from the chamber at the time of voting.

Our parliamentary reporter said that MPs Dallas Alahapperuma, Kumara Welgama, Rohitha Abeygunawardhana, Johnston Fernando, Bandula Gunawardhana, D. V. Chanaka, Piyal Nishantha and Namal Rajapaksa had been among these absentees.  

Meanwhile the ministers of the new Government are scheduled to take their oaths before President Maitripala Sirisena this noon.

That will be at the Presidential Secretariat.


Prime Minister Ranil Wickremasinghe too will grace the occasion.


48 cabinet ministers and 45 State and Deputy ministers are scheduled to take their oaths today.


Accordingly the total number of Ministry, State and Deputy Ministry posts is 93.

Make a Comment
Make a Comment