The number of minister portfolios of National Government rises upto 93


Chief Government Whip MP Gayantha Karunatilleke says that a motion is scheduled to be moved in parliament today for increasing the number of national government’s ministry posts.

Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe is scheduled to move the motion in parliament today.

Parliament General Secretary Dhammika Dassanayake told our news team that on this occasion the Prime Minister would be seeking parliament’s approval for 48 cabinet ministries and 45 deputy and state ministries.

Accordingly the total number of ministries will be 93.

Responding to a query by our news team Chief Government Whip, MP Gayantha Karunatilleke said that a debate is also scheduled to be held with regard to this today.

Subsequently a voting will also be held with regard to increasing the number of ministries of the national government. Meanwhile the Speaker is also scheduled to reveal in parliament today who the Opposition Leader will be.

A letter signed by 56 UPFA MPs was also submitted to the President recently requesting that MP Kumara Welgama be appointed as the Opposition Leader.

The TNA with its 16 parliamentary seats had also stated several times that the post of Opposition Leader should be given to a TNA MP.

However speaking to media recently UPFA national list MP Lakshman Yapa Abeywardhana told them that the President would take an unexpected decision with regard to the post of Opposition Leader.

Make a Comment
Make a Comment