Karu Jayasuriya Appointed New Speaker


The First Sitting of the Eighth Parliament commenced at 9.30 a.m. today.

UNP MP Karu Jayasuriya has been unanimously elected as the Speaker of the 8th Parliament.

His name was proposed by Prime Minister Ranil Wickremasinghe and seconded by former opposition leader Nimal Siripala De Silva.

Make a Comment
Make a Comment