Maiden session of the 8th Parliament today


The First Sitting of the Eighth Parliament will commence at 9.30 a.m. today.

The Secretary General of Parliament Dhammika Dasanayake said, according to parliament standing orders,  a MP elect for the new parliament can sit anywhere inside the chambers until a speaker is elected.

Parliament Secretary General Dasanayake told our news team that seating arrangements have not yet been finalized.

However seating have been already arranged for the president, the prime minister and the three ministers who have already been sworn in.

All MPs elect to be sworn in after a speaker is elected for the new parliament today.

Parliament Secretary General Dasanayake said that a deputy speaker and deputy chairman of committees would be elected thereafter.

Later when house sits in the afternoon, President Maithreepala Sirisena is to present the government’s policy statement to parliament.


Make a Comment
Make a Comment