Ranil Wickremesinghe sworn in as Prime Minister


UNP leader Ranil Wickremesinghe was sworn in as the Prime Minister of Sri Lanka before President Maithripala Sirisena at a ceremony currently underway at the Presidential Secretariat. 

Former President Mahinda Rajapaksa, who contested against Wickremesinghe at the General Election, was also present at the occasion. 

Meanwhile after Wickremesinghe took oaths as the new PM, a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) was signed between the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) and the United National Party (UNP), the country’s two main parties, to work together in the next Parliament.

The MoU was signed by UNP General Secretary Kabir Hashim and SLFP Acting General Secretary Duminda Dissanayake. 

Ranil Wickremasinghe who contested from the Colombo District in the General Election which drew to a close on Tuesday (17) consolidated his victory polling 500,506 votes. It is the highest number of votes polled by a candidate in Sri Lanka’s elections history.
Wickremesinghe was first appointed as the Prime Minister from 1993 - 1994 after the assassination of former President Ranasinghe Premadasa.

Make a Comment
Make a Comment