UNP petition on Uva PC seats dismissed : UNP FR case on Uva PC seats change rejected


The fundamental rights petition lodged at the Supreme court by the UNP regarding Uva PC seats change was rejected today.

The petition was lodged to challenge the changes made in PC seats of Moneragala and Badulla Districts of Uva provincial council.

According to our court reporter, the petition was rejected after it was taken for hearing before a panel of 3 judges headed by Chief Justice Mohan Peiris.

The petition was lodged by UNP MP Hareen Fernando, naming a group of persons including Elections Commissioner Mahinda Deshapriya and Attorney General as respondents of the petition.

The petition further requested to withhold issuing the Gazette notification which calls for nominations until the FR petition was taken for hearing.


The Supreme Court today dismissed the petition filed by the UNP on the seat allocation in the Districts of Badulla and Meneragala of the Uva Province.

UNP MP Harin Fernando who is tipped to be the party’s chief ministerial candidate for the upcoming Uva Provincial Council Election filed the petition last Monday (21).

Make a Comment
Make a Comment