Alliance and JVP start handing over nominations


The UPFA and JVP started handing over nominations today for the forthcoming general election. 

Accordingly, Opposition Leader Nimal Siripala de Silva handed over his party nomination list for the Badulla district to receiving officer Nimal Abeysiri this morning.

Deputy Minister Lakshman Seneviratne and former MP Dilan Perera were also present. 

Meanwhile, JVP has handed over nominations this morning for the districts of Kalutara, Puttalam, Polonnaruwa, and Vavuniya.  

The Frontline Socialist party also handed over its nominations for Colombo, Vavuniya, Ampara, Anuradhapura and Matale district this morning.   

The Election Secretariat stated that the Democratic Party handed over its nominations for Kalutara, Kegalle, Matale and Kurunegala districts this morning.

In addition, the Janasetha Peramuna has handed over nominations for Trincomalee and Matale districts this morning.

Meanwhile our correspondents stated that two independent groups for Badulla and another two groups for Batticaloa have handed over nominations.

TNA General Secretary Mawei Senadhirajah said that Ilangai Tamil Arasu Kachchi would hand over nominations for Batticaloa, Jaffna, Vanni and Trincomalee districts this afternoon.

They would hand over nominations for the Ampara district on Monday.

Receiving nominations for the August 17th General Election would be closed 12 midnight on Monday, July 13th.

129 independent groups have deposited bonds by yesterday.

Former speaker Chamal Rajapaksa signed his nomination papers this morning to contest for the Hambantota district under UPFA ticket.

Western Provincial council Chief Minister Prasanna Ranatunga has also signed nomination papers this morning to contest the general election for Gampaha district under the UPFA ticket.

Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe signed his nominations to contest for the Colombo district.

 Meanwhile, Former president Mahinda Rajapaksa signed his nomination papers to contest the general election under the UPFA ticket for the district of Kurunegala.

Meanwhile, Former MP R Duminda Silva was also present at the Mahaweli Center where UPFA nomination papers were signed yesterday.

Make a Comment
Make a Comment