No confidence motion against central provincial council CM Sarath Ekanayaka handed over


The no confidence motion against Central Provincial Council Chief Minister Sarath Ekanayake was handed over to the Council’s deputy chief secretary by Opposition Leader Ranjith Aluvihare today.

The Opposition Leader told our news team that the no confidence motion has been supported by 19 council members.

The misappropriation of funds in building the Pallekele Provincial Council Secretariat and the Digana Sports Grounds are among the 9 financial fraud charges made against the Chief Minister in this no confidence motion.

Opposition Leader Ranjith Aluvihare further said that members of UNP, Tamil parties, Muslim Congress and one member of UPFA also have signed in this no confidence motion.

The UPFA holds 36 seats out of 58 seats of the Central Provincial Council. UNP holds 16 seats while Democratic Party and Ceylon Workers Congress hold 2 seats each. Upcountry People’s Front and Muslim Congress also hold one seat each.

32 members of the UPFA and the opposition handed over affidavits to Central Provincial Governor Surangani Ellawala on March 12, asking to replace the chief ministerial post with Thilina Bandara Tennakoon.

Earlier, a petition demanding the removal of the chief minister from his post had been handed over to the former CP Governor Tikiri Kobbekaduwa as well.

The next Provincial council session is scheduled to be held on May 5.

Having handed over the no confidence motion, Central Provincial Council Opposition Leader Ranjith Aluvihare told our news team that he would send a letter to the Provincial Council with the signatures of 19 members requesting to hold the next session before May 5.

Make a Comment
Make a Comment