Landslide risk in 11 districts: Earth slips block several roads in the upcountry including 3 entry routes to Nuwaraeliya: Showers exceed 150 mm


The landslide warning issued on 11 districts due to the prevailing adverse weather condition has been extended.

The National Building Research Organization stated that therefore the warning is valid for Matale, Kandy, Badulla, Nuwara-eliya, Ratnapura, Hambantota, Kegalle, Kurunegala, Kalutara, Galle and Matara districts.

Meanwhile, several roads are reportedly blocked as a result of the disaster situation affecting many parts of the island.

Accordingly, the Kandy-Mahiyanganaya Road, Kandy-Badulla Road, Akurana-Matale Road, Kandy-Kurunegala Road and Walapane-Ragala roads are blocked due to earth slips.

It is also reported that 3 main entry routes to Nuwara-eliya are also blocked.

Meanwhile, 17 districts have been affected by the adverse weather conditions and 650 thousand people are affected.

334 makeshift camps are providing shelter to those displaced.

Meanwhile, 58 reservoirs out of 73 that belong to the Department of irrigation are overflowing.

Meanwhile the MET Department predicted more strong winds and heavy rain in many parts of the island due to the low pressure situation prevailing in the sea off the South Eastern direction.

Make a Comment
Make a Comment