Final voting on budget today


Voting on the third reading of the budget takes place today. 

Finance Minister Mangala Samaraweera presented this year’s budget on March 5th

Accordingly at the voting on the second reading of the budget held on 12th March it was passed by a majority of 43 votes.

While 119 voted for the budget, 76 voted against it.

The UNP, the TNA and the CWC voted for the budget, the UFFA and the JVP voted against it.

It was significant that at the time of voting a group of SLFP MPs were not present in the chamber of the House.

MPs including Mahinda Amaraweera, Nimal Siripala de Silva, Dayasiri Jayasekera, Duminda Dissanayake, Thilanga Sumathipala, Sarath Amunugama, Mahinda Samarasinghe,S. B. Dissanayake, Ranjith Siyambalapitiya, Lasantha Alagiyawanna, Shanta Bandara, Faiser Mustafa,  were  not present in the chamber.

MP Wijedasa Rajapaksa and Venerable Athuruliye Rathana Thera who serves as an Independent MP too were not in the chamber at the time of voting.

Similarly, it is also significant that at the time of the debate on expenditure heads, several expenditure heads of the Ministry of Internal and Home Affairs and the Ministry of Megapolis and Western Development were defeated.   

The government had later submitted a Supplementary Estimates before parliament.

Make a Comment
Make a Comment