President’s heads of expenditure debate today


The committee stage debate of the budget is to commence today and the much-spoken about expenditure head of the president is to be taken up for debate at 10.30 am.

In addition, debates on 24 expenditure overheads including the prime minister’s office, parliament, the offices of the cabinet, public sector services, judiciary, police, human rights, elections, delimitations, and auditors services will be held today.

Following the debate A vote will be cast pertaining to the expenditure overheads.

The committee stage debates will be held over the next 19 days, at which stage the final vote will be held on the 5th of April.

The 2019 budget proposal was presented to parliament on the 5th of March by minister of finance, Mangala Samaraweera .

the second reading debate that commenced on the 6th of March, and was concluded yesterday, was passed with a majority of 43 votes.

119 voted in favour of the budget , 76 opposed.

MPs of the UNP, TNA and Ceylon Workers Congress voted in favour of the budget while the UPFA and JVP voted against it.

certain MPs of the SLFP were not present in the chambers during voting

Specifically Mahinda Amaraweera, Nimal Siripala de Silva, Dayasiri Jayasekera, Duminda Dissanayake, Thilanga Sumathipala, Sarath Amunugama, Mahinda Samarasinghe, S.B Dissanayake, Ranjith Siyambalapitiya, Lasantha Alagiyawanna, Shantha Bandara, and Faiser Mutafa were absent during the vote.

Ven. Athuraliyae Rathana Thero who is an independent MP in parliament was also absent during the vote.

MPs of the SLFP have decided to vote in favour of the president’s overhead budget which will be debated today.


Make a Comment
Make a Comment