President decides that SLFP MP’s who join the government will not be given ministerial portfolios


President Maithripala Sirisena has decided to not grant ministerial posts to any SLFP MP’s who join the UNF government.

The President made this known, during a meeting with the SLFP central committee last afternoon, that lasted almost two hours.

parliament met for the first time yesterday, following prime minister Ranil Wickremesinghe’s swearing in ceremony.

UPFA MPs Vijith Wijeyamuni Soysa, Lakshman Senevirathna  and Indika Bandaranayake announced their decision to support the government during yesterdays session.

Meanwhile, SLFP general secretary, Professor Rohana Lakshman Piyadasa said that a decision would be taken at the next central committee meeting regarding SLFP MPs who join the government , as it would be considered an insult to the president.   


Make a Comment
Make a Comment