Parliamentary Select Committee government representatives to be named today


Minister Vasudeva Nanayakkara said that the names of Government MPs nominated for the parliamentary select committee to carry out future activities, would be handed over today.

The Minister said that this decision was taken at a discussion held last night at the president’s official residence.

Several party leaders including Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa participated in the discussion.

Accordingly Minister Wasudeva Nanayakkara said further that the relevant list of names is expected to be handed over to the parliament general secretary later today.

meanwhile,Former Minister Mano Ganeshan says that the opposition cannot agree to the request, to grant a majority representation to the government.

The former minister said that members of the relevant Select Committee would be appointed in proportion to the percentage of parliamentary seats.

The Select Committee comprises 12 persons inclusive of the Speaker.

Make a Comment
Make a Comment