Sangakkara and Mathew’s shortlisted for ICC Cricketer of the Year award


Kumar Sangakkara and Australia’s Mitchell Johnson are in line to win their second Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the ICC Cricketer of the Year after they were shortlisted for the LG ICC Awards 2014.

Sangakkara, who won this prestigious award in 2012, finished as the leading run-getter with 1,502 runs in 11 Tests with four centuries and nine half-centuries.

In 26 ODIs, Sangakkara scored 1,046 in 26 matches at an average of just under 42 with three centuries and seven half-centuries.

Since the inception of the LG ICC Awards in 2004, no cricketer has won this award twice.

Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews, who was the second highest run-getter in Tests with 1,292 runs at an average of 92.28 and backed up this performance with 965 runs in 28 ODIs at an average of just under 54, and AB de Villiers, who scored 932 runs in 10 Tests at an average of 54.8 and 963 runs in 20 ODIs at an average of over 60, have also been shortlisted for the award.

Rangana Herath’s figures of 3.3-2-3-5 against New Zealand in the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 has earned the nominations for the ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year award.


Make a Comment
Make a Comment