Mahinda Rajapaksa Shadow Prime Minister, Namal Shadow Foreign Minister


Joint Opposition announces its shadow cabinet; 51 to receive ministerial portfolios; Mahinda designated as Prime Minister

The Joint Opposition Has Announced A Shadow Cabinet This Afternoon

Former President Mahinda Rajapaksa has been designated as the Prime Minister of the shadow cabinet.

In addition, he has been given the Defence and Buddhasasana ministerial portfolios.

MP Dinesh Gunawardana has been designated for the National policies and economic affairs subject while Chamal Rajapaksa has been named for Transport and Civil Aviation subject.

At the same time, MP Namal Rajapaksa has been named for the Foreign Affairs portfolio.

Leader of National Freedom Front Wimal Weerawansa has been nominated for Housing, Construction and Engineering Services subject while leader of Pivituru Hela Urumaya MP Udaya Gammanpila has been named for Law and Order portfolio.

In addition, MP Dallas has been named for Education and Parliamentary affairs subject while Kumara Welgama has been named for Port and Shipping subject.

All 51 MPs who represent the Joint Opposition have been marked for ministerial positions under the shadow cabinet of the group.

For further details log onto our website

Joint Opposition
Shadow Cabinet


Hon. Mahinda Rajapaksa – Prime Minister, Minister of Buddha Sasana, Religious Affairs and Defence


  1. Hon. Dinesh Gunawardena – National Policies and Economic Affairs
  2. Hon. Chamal Rajapaksa – Transport and Aviation
  3. Hon. Dallas Alahapperuma – Education and Parliamentary Affairs
  4. Hon. Kumara Welgama – Ports and Shipping
  5. Hon. Janaka Bandara Tennakoon – Strategic Development and International Trade
  6. Hon. Bandula Gunawardena – Finance
  7. Hon. Wimal Weerawansa – Housing, Construction and Engineering Services
  8. Hon. Wasudewa Nananayakkara – National Co-existence, Dialogue and Official Languages
  9. Hon. Pavithra Wanniarachchi – Social Empowerment and Social Services
  10. Hon. Salinda Dissanayake – Plantation Industry and Estate Infrastructure
  11. Hon. C.B. Ratnayake – Irrigation and Water Resources Management
  12. Hon. Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena – Agriculture
  13. Hon. Gamini Lokuge – Labour and Trade Union Relations
  14. Hon. Keheliya Rambukwella – State Enterprise Development
  15. Hon. Johnston Fernando – Industry and Commerce
  16. Hon. Chandrasiri Gajadheera – Justice and Constitutional Reforms
  17. Hon. S.M. Chandrasena – Rural Economic Affairs, Livestock and Rajarata Development
  18. Hon. Mahindananda Aluthgamage – Petroleum and Mineral Resources Development
  19. Hon. Rohitha Abeygunawardena – Power and Energy
  20. Hon. Weerakumara Dissanayake – Science and Technology
  21. Hon. S.C. Muthukumarana – Postal Services
  22. Hon. Wimalaweera Dissanayake – Lands and Eastern Development
  23. Hon. Jayantha Samaraweera – Megapolis and Western Development
  24. Hon. Udaya Padma Shantha Gunasekara – Disaster Management
  25. Hon. Namal Rajapaksa – Foreign Affairs
  26. Hon. Ramesh Pathirana – Health and Indigenous Medicine
  27. Hon. Ranjith Soyza – Local Government and Provincial Councils
  28. Hon. Widura Wickramanayake – Skills Development and Vocational Training
  29. Hon. Lohan Ratwatta – Urban Planning and Water Supply
  30. Hon. Roshan Ranasinghe – Foreign Employment Promotion and Mahaweli Development
  31. Hon. Wijitha Berugoda – Sustainable Development and Wildlife
  32. Hon. Kanaka Herath – Telecommunication and Digital Infrastructure
  33. Hon. Janaka Wakkumbura – Public Administration and Management
  34. Hon. Dilum Amunugama – Mass Media
  35. Hon. Shehan Semasinghe – Higher Education
  36. Hon. Sriyani Wijewickrama – Women and Child Affairs
  37. Hon. Mohan P. de Silva – Prison Reforms and Rehabilitation
  38. Hon. Thenuka Widanagamage – Upcountry New Villages and infrastructure
  39. Hon. Prasanna Ranatunga – Highways
  40. Hon. Udaya Gammanpila – Law and Order
  41. Hon. Sanath Nishantha – Fisheries and Aquatic Resources
  42. Hon. Tharaka Balasuriya – Tourism
  43. Hon. Sisira Jayakodi – Internal Affairs
  44. Hon. Geetha Kumarasinghe – Environment
  45. Hon. Kanchana Wijesekara – Sports
  46. Hon. Prasanna Ranaweera – Primary Industries
  47. Hon. Piyal Nishantha – Regional Development
  48. Hon. Niroshan Premaratne – Cultural Affairs
  49. Hon. Indika Anuruddha – Resettlement and Community Development
  50. Hon. D.V. Chanaka – Southern Development


Make a Comment
Make a Comment