Hot weather prompts changes in school time tables


Ceylon Teachers’ Services Union says amendments to the school timetables due to the extreme weather condition has created a division in schools.

General Secretary of the association Mahinda Jayasinghe said two timetables for schools under the North Central Provincial Council and the ministry were introduced.

He noted the changes made to the timetable should be implemented equally in all schools including national schools.

It was decided that all schools in the North Central Province will be closed by 12 noon, due to the prevailing hot weather condition.

Meanwhile, all schools of the Eastern Province will be closed at 12 noon.

The Education Secretary of the Eastern Province, Asanka Abeygunawardena said the decision was arrived at following discussions with the Provincial Minister of Education after considering the requests made by both teachers and parents.

Currently extreme hot weather conditions prevail in Ampara, Batticaloa and Trincomalee districts.

Make a Comment
Make a Comment