IPL kick starts in India


On the eve of the opening clash between Mumbai Indians and Rising Pune Supergiants, a glitzy ceremony at National Sports Club of India in Mumbai kick-started the ninth edition of Indian Premier League (IPL), Inidan media reports.

Bollywood stars such as Jacqueline Fernandez and Katrina Kaif performed at the event, as Dwayne Bravo, with his rendition of the 'Champion' song, enthralled the crowd with some Caribbean flavour.

The eight captains (in the order of: Zaheer Khan, Suresh Raina, David Miller, Gautam Gambhir, MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli, David Warner and Rohit Sharma) came on to the stage to sign the pledge to 'play hard, play fair and uphold the spirit of the game', it was reported.

‘The opening match of the IPL 2016, on Saturday (April 9), will see defending champions Mumbai Indians face off against debutants, Rising Pune Supergiants, who will be led by MS Dhoni.

‘A total of 59 games will be played over a period of 51 days with the final taking place at the Wankhede stadium on May 29.

Make a Comment
Make a Comment