A special Presidential committee for probing electricity failure


The President has appointed a special committee for probing sudden island-wide power failures and the consequences arising from such incidents. He has  recommended that the Government take immediate action to rectify the situation.The committee comprises of the minister of power and renewable energy Ranjith Siyambalapitiya and Ministers Susil Premajayantha, Paatali Champika and Saagala Ratnaayaka and Deputy Ministers Eran Wickremeratne and Ajith P. Perera.

Issuing a communiqué, the Presidential Media Division said that the committee’s first report was scheduled to be submitted to the President within a week.

The committee is scheduled to make recommendations necessary for carrying out services in a manner that daily routines of people’s lives are not negatively affected,  while rectifying the issues within the power sector.

While the special presidential committee is scheduled to perform necessary action within approximately three months, they are being encourage to obtain the assistance of experienced persons and experts in Power and Energy sector.

Meanwhile responding to questioning from our correspondents Minister Ranjith Siyambalapitiya said that the special presidential committee will be meeting at the Ministry at 3 p.m. today.

Ceylon Electricity Board Chairman Aura Wijepala said that if it became necessary to sever electricity till the Norochcholai Power Plant power generation was brought back to normalcy, the people resident in the relevant areas   would be informed. 

Make a Comment
Make a Comment