Two Sentenced For 1996 Dehiwela Bomb


The Colombo Special High Court today sentenced two individuals for the Dehiwela train bomb attack in July 1996.

Accordingly, Sinnappa Selvarasa and Suppiah Sritharan were imprisoned for two years each for aiding and abetting the crime.

The fact that they had been in remand custody for 20 years was taken into consideration when the sentence was given.

On July 24, 1996, a powerful bomb exploded in the Colombo-Aluthgama train at the Dehiwela Railway Station, killing over 60 civilians and injuring more than 300 others.

The LTTE denied responsibility for the bomb blast.

Make a Comment
Make a Comment