Travel ban on former Minister Basil Rajapakse


The five suspects including Yoshitha Rajapaksa who are in remand in connection with the CSN incident have been further remanded until March 24th.  The other 4 suspectd in remand prison are: Former President Mahinda Rajapaksa’s media spokesman and CSN channel head Rohan Weliwita, company CEO Nishantha Ranatunga and company directors Kavishan Dissanayake and Ashan Fernando.

Yoshitha Rajapaksa and four others were arrested recently on several charges including the abuse of state property to promote CSN television and, launching the CSN channel on undeclared assets.

Our correspondent stated that former president Mahinda Rajapaksa and MP Namal Rajapaksa and several others were present in Court today when the suspects were produced before the Magistrate.

Meanwhile the Colombo High Court served charge sheets to former Economic Development Minister Basil Rajapaksa and Divi Neguma Department former Director General R.K. Ranawaka,  with regard to the Case in connection to the misappropriation of funds of the Divi Neguma Department.

Former minister Basil Rajapaksa and Divi Neguma former Director General R.K. Ranawaka were released on 500 thousand rupees cash bail and two surety bails of 5 million rupees each when the suspects were produced before High Court Judge Padmini Ranawaka.  In addition a travel ban was imposed on the suspects and their passports were expounded.

The High Court Judge also fixed the Case to be taken again on July 22.  Meanwhile the lawyers appearing on behalf of the suspects, informed Court that their clients are unable to pay 500 thousand rupees for the cash bail.

the Judge then ordered for the bail payment be made before march 15th.

Make a Comment
Make a Comment