Land slide risk in 10 districts due to incessant showers


The Disaster Management Center has extended the warning of landslide threats in 10 districts due to the prevailing rainy weather.

The 10 districts include Badulla, Nuwara Eliya, Kegalle, Kandy, Kalutara, Ratnapura, Matara, Mathale, Galle and Monaragala.

Deputy Director of the Center Pradeep Kodopllai warned the residents of those districts to remain vigilant.

The met department states that Showers will occur at several places in the Northern and Eastern provinces.

Thundershowers will occur at most places elsewhere after 02.00 pm.

Duty Meteorologist Janaka Kumara stated that fairly heavy falls more than 75 mili meters are also likely at some places.

Make a Comment
Make a Comment