Mathews cleans up at SLC Awards


Angelo Mathews' excellent form with the bat and consistent performances with the ball, have earned him four major Sri Lanka Cricket awards, including his second successive Cricketer of the Year prize.

He also won the Test batsman trophy, and the ODI batsman and all-rounder awards.

Mathews' award for Test batsman of the year broke Sangakkara's five-year streak for the award.

Rangana Herath won the Test bowler prize for a 2014 that brought him 56 wickets at 27.17.

Ajantha Mendis was the Best ODI bowler for his 38 wickets at 21.63. Mendis was not picked for Sri Lanka's World Cup squad this year, however, and has since been out with injury ever since.

Kusal Perera and Nuwan Kulasekara won the T20 batting and bowling awards respectively.

Kusal also won the Emerging Cricketer of the Year award, having recently flourished in ODIs and made a bright start in Tests.

Make a Comment
Make a Comment