Constitutional Council nominates members to 4 commissions


The Constitutional Council (CC) has forwarded the names of members nominated to the Bribery, Police, Public Service and Human Rights (HR) commissions to President Maithripala Sirisena for approval.

All ten members of the Constitutional Council had assembled this morning at the Parliament premises and reached a final decision regarding the members of the Commission to Investigate Allegation of Bribery or Corruption, Human Rights Commission, Public Service Commission and National Police Commission.A decision was taken to immediately forward the recommendations to the President, the Office of the Speaker said in a statement.

The Constitutional Council is set to reconvene on November 04 while a final decision on the remaining independent commissions is to be taken on that date.

Make a Comment
Make a Comment